Skip to main content

Specialist Subject Resources (A-Z Databases)

Find the best library resources for your subject.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New
Cambridge Histories is a globally respected series of over 300 volumes spanning fifteen subject areas across the humanities and social sciences, with a concentration on political and cultural history, literature, philosophy, religious studies, music and the arts.
New
Circle Lab Knowledge Hub is an online platform of case studies which explore circular economic business models and strategies in practice which tackle universal and local challenges relating to sustainability, moving away from the linear ‘make, use and dispose’ model. Topics include design (such as materials, textiles and products) and industries (such as retail, food, financial services, IT & communications, tourism, and logistics). Case studies can be searched by economic strategy type, by sector/industry, and by impact areas.
Trial
The Clinical Sports Medicine Collection provides access to Brukner & Khan’s Clinical Sports Medicine. The collection also includes more than 40 video master classes showing procedures such as foot examination, hip injections and basic biomechanical assessment.

This electronic content will be available on the McGraw-Hill Medical platform until the end of June 2020.
Trial
The Loeb Classical Library is a series of books which present important works of ancient Greek and Latin literature in a way designed to make the text accessible to the broadest possible audience, by presenting the original Greek or Latin text on each left-hand page, and a fairly literal translation on the facing page.

This electronic content will be available on the Harvard University Press platform until the end of June 2020.
Trial
A selection of cross-searchable ebooks and videos in the areas of fitness, exercise, coaching and sport.

The online ebooks and videos will be available on the Human Kinetics Library platform until the end of May 2020.
Trial
The Literary Encyclopedia is a constantly evolving and updating repository of authoritative reference work about literary and cultural history, including entries on People, Works and Context.

The online content will be available on the Literary Encyclopedia platform until 30th June 2020.
Trial
Occupational Therapy and Physical Therapy collections from the LWW Health Library. The collections give access to a selection of ebooks, videos and case studies. The Occupational Therapy collection includes online access to ‘Willard & Spackman’s Occupational Therapy’. The Physical Therapy collection includes access to Shumway-Cook’s ‘Motor Control’.

This online content will be available on the Lippincott platform until the 8th of June 2020.
Trial
12 collections of e-books published by Manchester University Press, temporarily available until 30th June 2020. Collections included: Film Studies; Gothic; History of Medicine; International Relations; Literature Studies; Medieval Sources Online; Medieval Studies; Political Studies; Religious Studies; Security, Conflict & Peace; Shakespeare; Studies in Imperialism.

The online ebooks will be available on the Manchester Hive platform until the end of June 2020.
New
Learn about the latest research, reviews and news from across all of the Nature journals by subject
New
The mission of Open Access Digital Theological Library (OADTL) is to curate high-quality content in religious studies and related disciplines from publisher websites, institutional repositories, scholarly societies, archives, and stable public domain collections. The OADTL uses the world’s most advanced integrated library system (ILS) for cataloging and discovery. The OADTL currently provides access to over 190,000 ebooks and thousands of journals, and the collection is growing.
Trial
Expanded access to Literature Online. It contains 5 million literature citations from thousands of journals, monographs, dissertations, and more than 500,000 primary works, including extensive collections of Black and World literature.

This electronic content will be available on the ProQuest platform until the end of June 2020.
Trial
SAGE Research Methods is the ultimate methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences.

These online resources will be available on the SAGE platform until the end of June 2020.
Trial
Elsevier are providing free access to all eTextbooks currently hosted on their ScienceDirect platform. Details of titles are available at https://www.elsevier.com/solutions/sciencedirect/content/book-title-lists. Click on the Textbook link.

The Elsevier eTextbooks are hosted alongside Elsevier journal content on the ScienceDirect platform. York St John University students and staff can access the ScienceDirect platform using their York St John usernames and passwords in the usual way.

This electronic content will be available via the ScienceDirect platform until the end of June 2020.
Trial
This is trial access to statistics, industry and company reports, consumer surveys across 600 industries and 50 countries.

This electronic content will be available on the Statista platform until the end of June 2020.
Trial
York St John students and staff can now access VitalSource Helps eBooks via the VitalSource Helps programme.

Students and staff must have or create an account on the VitalSource platform using a York St John email address. You will only gain access to ebook content with a valid York St John email address.

Once registered, users can then explore content on the VitalSource site and "borrow" ebooks to their online bookshelf. Users can access up to seven titles.
Further help is available at: https://support.vitalsource.com/hc/en-gb/articles/360044467674/

These ebooks will be available via the VitalSource Helps platform until the end of June 2020.
New
WARC is an advertising and marketing research database which provides access to over 11,000 global case studies. It also provides webinars and a Strategy Toolkit course for marketing strategists. The database can be searched, or browsed by topic. Topic coverage includes branding, consumer research and media strategies, for diverse sectors including food and drink, politics, retail, healthcare, media, education, entertainment, and luxury markets.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...